Posted in Food

Healthy-er Breakfast Options

So I am always on the lookout for healthier options for any meal, but I like my sweeter breakfast foods.  So…I’ve decided to share a few of my sweet (and savory) healthy alternatives.

1. Whole Grain Waffles with Nutella and Kiwi

IMG_1056

So this one is first because it’s the easiest.  It’s not even really a recipe.  You can, of course, make your own home made whole wheat waffles, but when I’m in a pinch, I go for frozen.  Instead of opting for ultra sweet and sugary syrup, I top them with just a little glop of Nutella and sliced kiwi fruit!

Tip:  If you spread the Nutella on the waffles while they’re still hot, it’s easier to spread!

2. French Toast Parfait

IMG_1074

I really enjoy this option because it can be eaten on the go and, the yogurt doesn’t make the cereal as soggy as milk.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup low-fat vanilla yogurt (or any flavor you choose)

2/3 cup Cinnamon Chex cereal

Pour cereal into a bag and crush into little pieces.  Pour half the cereal into the bottom of the bowl.  Fill with yogurt.  Pour the rest of the cereal on top.  You’ll get a yummy taste of your morning cereal that doesn’t get soggy!

3.  Alternative Oatmeal

IMG_1067

Ingredients:

1 package Quaker maple brown sugar instant oatmeal (or an oatmeal)

2 heaping spoonfuls almond butter (or any other nut butter)

I like to eat this sometimes when I in the mood for something a little less sweet.  You still have the maple flavor, but the nuttiness of the almond butter goes really well for a quick breakfast.

4. Fresh Breakfast Salad

 

I’ve mentioned this combo before (because I just can’t get enough!)  I’ll eat it for any meal really…in a wrap or as a sandwich, but when I want something light for breakfast, I’ll eat it as a salad.

Ingredients:

hard-boiled egg (fried also works for the sandwich option)

sliced bell peppers

avocado

Sprinkle with salt and pepper for a really fresh, raw taste, or add other seasoning for something a little fuller.

Happy breakfast!!  Happy tummy!!

Leave a Reply

